Costa Rica Digital Nomad Visa vs Costa Rica Inversionista (Investor) Residency
Costa Rica digital nomad route: 12 months, $3,000 a month. Costa Rica investor route: $250 fee, 24 months.
- Income
- $3,000/mo
- Duration
- 12 months
- Fee
- $250
- Duration
- 24 months
- Processing
- 65 weeks
Next steps
Costa Rica Digital Nomad
Costa Rica Inversionista Investor
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Costa Rica Digital Nomad Visa
Costa Rica Inversionista (Investor) Residency
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Costa Rica Digital Nomad Visa | Costa Rica Inversionista (Investor) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Digital nomad | Investor |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 | 24 (Longest initial stay) |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Digital nomads, Remote employees, Freelancers | Passive investors |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Costa Rica Digital Nomad Visa | Costa Rica Inversionista (Investor) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $3,000 | Not specified |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | $150,000 |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Real estate, Business creation, Capital transfer |
| Application fee, one time | Not specified | $250 |
| Field | Costa Rica Digital Nomad Visa | Costa Rica Inversionista (Investor) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Remote work | Not specified |
| Employment types accepted | 1099 contractor, Self-employed | Business owner, Self-employed |
| Social Security counts as income | Not specified | No |
| Pension income recognized | No | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 75% | Not specified |
| Field | Costa Rica Digital Nomad Visa | Costa Rica Inversionista (Investor) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | Not specified | 65 weeks |
| Where to apply | Apply online via the official Tramite Ya digital platform at https://tramiteya.go.cr/dgme/ or in-person at General...See where to apply on the visa page | Not specified |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Costa Rica Digital Nomad Visa | Costa Rica Inversionista (Investor) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes | Yes |
| Years to permanent residency | Not specified | 3 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not specified | 10 years |
| Days in country, per year | 180 days | 180 days |
| Field | Costa Rica Digital Nomad Visa | Costa Rica Inversionista (Investor) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Territorial | Not specified |
| US tax treaty | No treaty | Not specified |
| Field | Costa Rica Digital Nomad Visa | Costa Rica Inversionista (Investor) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Yes |
| Local bank account required | Yes | No (No local bank account needed) |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | Not specified | No |
| Required documents | 6 items listedSee full list on the visa page | Not specified |