Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa vs Estonia e-Residency + OÜ Company Residency
Bulgaria digital nomad route: $114 fee, 12 months. Estonia freelancer route: $137 fee, $1,370 a month.
- Estonia e-Residency +: $1,370 a month, $4,339 less than Bulgaria Digital Nomad.
- Bulgaria Digital Nomad: $114 to apply, $23 less than Estonia e-Residency +.
- Estonia e-Residency +: about 18.3 weeks, 9.8 weeks sooner than Bulgaria Digital Nomad.
Built for: Digital nomads, Remote employees and Freelancers.
- Income
- $5,709/mo
- Fee
- $114
- Duration
- 12 months
- Income
- $1,370/mo
- Fee
- $137
- Processing
- 2-34.6 weeks
Next steps
Bulgaria Digital Nomad
Estonia e-Residency +
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa
Estonia e-Residency + OÜ Company Residency
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa | Estonia e-Residency + OÜ Company Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Digital nomad | Freelancer |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 | Not specified |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Digital nomads, Remote employees, Freelancers | Digital nomads, Freelancers, Remote employees |
| Nationality restrictions | Non-EU nationals only | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa | Estonia e-Residency + OÜ Company Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $5,709 | $1,370 (Lowest known income requirement) |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $114 (Lowest known fee) | $137 |
| Field | Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa | Estonia e-Residency + OÜ Company Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Employment types accepted | W-2 employee, 1099 contractor, Business owner, Self-employed | Business owner |
| Social Security counts as income | Not specified | No |
| Pension income recognized | Not specified | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | Not specified |
| Field | Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa | Estonia e-Residency + OÜ Company Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 4.3 weeks | 2 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 52 weeks | 34.6 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Where to apply | Apply first for Type D long-term visa at Bulgarian embassy/consulate in your home country or legal residence. After...See where to apply on the visa page | Not specified |
| Interview required | Yes | No (No interview required) |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa | Estonia e-Residency + OÜ Company Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | No |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Field | Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa | Estonia e-Residency + OÜ Company Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Worldwide | Not specified |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa | Estonia e-Residency + OÜ Company Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Yes |
| Local bank account required | No | Not specified |
| Apostille required | Yes | No (No apostille needed) |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | 8 items listedSee full list on the visa page | Not specified |