Paraguay Pensionado Visa vs Uruguay Retirement Visa
Paraguay retirement route: $370 fee, 6 months. Uruguay retirement route: $100 fee, 3 months.
- Paraguay Pensionado: $1,300 a month, $200 less than Uruguay Retirement.
- Uruguay Retirement: $100 to apply, $270 less than Paraguay Pensionado.
- Uruguay Retirement: about 7 weeks, 45.5 weeks sooner than Paraguay Pensionado.
Built for: FIRE, Retirees and Passive investors.
- Income
- $1,300/mo
- Fee
- $370
- Duration
- 6 months
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $100
- Duration
- 3 months
Next steps
Paraguay Pensionado
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Paraguay Pensionado Visa
Uruguay Retirement Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Maximum consecutive days abroad
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Paraguay Pensionado Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Retirement | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 6 (Longest initial stay) | 3 |
| Renewable | No | Yes (Renewable) |
| Built for | FIRE, Retirees, Passive investors | Retirees, FIRE, Passive investors |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | Not specified | 55 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Paraguay Pensionado Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,300 (Lowest known income requirement) | $1,500 |
| Minimum savings, one time | $200,000 | $24,000 (Lowest known savings requirement) |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | $100,000 |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Real estate, Government bonds |
| Application fee, one time | $370 | $100 (Lowest known fee) |
| Renewal cost, one time | $0 | Not specified |
| Field | Paraguay Pensionado Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Pension or Social Security, Passive income | Pension or Social Security, Passive income |
| Social Security counts as income | Yes (Social Security counts) | No |
| Pension income recognized | Yes (Pension income recognized) | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | Not specified | 36% |
| Field | Paraguay Pensionado Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 1 weeks | 1 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 104 weeks | 13 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Paraguay Pensionado Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | Yes (Path to permanent residency) |
| Years to permanent residency | 2 years | 0 years (Shortest known path to permanent residency) |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | 5 years |
| Days in country, per year | 180 days | 180 days |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | 1,095 days | Not specified |
| Field | Paraguay Pensionado Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Not specified | Hybrid |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Paraguay Pensionado Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | No (No insurance requirement) |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | Yes | No (No US FBI background check needed) |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |