Norway Freelance / Self-Employment Visa vs Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo)
Norway freelancer route: 36 months. Spain freelancer route: $91 fee, 1 months.
Built for: Freelancers.
- Duration
- 36 months
- Processing
- 4-6 weeks
- Income
- $3,194/mo
- Fee
- $91
- Duration
- 1 months
Next steps
Norway Freelance /
Spain Freelance Autónomo
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Norway Freelance / Self-Employment Visa
Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo)
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Local work permitted
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Norway Freelance / Self-Employment Visa | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Freelancer | Freelancer |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 36 (Longest initial stay) | 1 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Freelancers, Digital nomads | Freelancers |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Non-EU nationals only |
| Field | Norway Freelance / Self-Employment Visa | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | Not specified | $3,194 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | Not specified | $91 |
| Renewal cost, one time | $600 | Not specified |
| Field | Norway Freelance / Self-Employment Visa | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Remote work, Business income | Not specified |
| Employment types accepted | 1099 contractor, Self-employed, Business owner | Self-employed |
| Social Security counts as income | No | Not specified |
| Local work permitted | Yes (Local work permitted) | No |
| Field | Norway Freelance / Self-Employment Visa | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 4 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 13 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 6 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 26 weeks |
| Where to apply | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page | Apply in person at the Spanish consulate or embassy in your home country for the initial visa. Cannot apply from within...See where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Norway Freelance / Self-Employment Visa | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes | Yes |
| Years to permanent residency | 5 years | 5 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not specified | 15 years |
| Days in country, per year | Not specified | 183 days |
| Field | Norway Freelance / Self-Employment Visa | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Worldwide | Not specified |
| US tax treaty | Yes, full treaty | Not specified |
| Tax registration deadline, months after arrival | 6 monthsTax notes | Not specifiedTax notes |
| Field | Norway Freelance / Self-Employment Visa | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | No (No insurance requirement) |
| Local bank account required | No (No local bank account needed) | Yes |
| Apostille required | No (No apostille needed) | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | 10 items listedSee full list on the visa page | 7 items listedSee full list on the visa page |