Nicaragua Pensionado vs Paraguay Pensionado Visa
Nicaragua retirement route: 12 months, $1,200 a month. Paraguay retirement route: $370 fee, 6 months.
- Nicaragua Pensionado: $1,200 a month, $100 less than Paraguay Pensionado.
- Nicaragua Pensionado: about 30.5 weeks, 22 weeks sooner than Paraguay Pensionado.
Built for: Retirees, FIRE and Passive investors.
- Income
- $1,200/mo
- Duration
- 12 months
- Processing
- 26-35 weeks
- Income
- $1,300/mo
- Fee
- $370
- Duration
- 6 months
Next steps
Paraguay Pensionado
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Nicaragua Pensionado
Paraguay Pensionado Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Maximum consecutive days abroad
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Nicaragua Pensionado | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Retirement | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 (Longest initial stay) | 6 |
| Renewable | Yes (Renewable) | No |
| Built for | Retirees, FIRE, Passive investors | FIRE, Retirees, Passive investors |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Nicaragua Pensionado | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,200 (Lowest known income requirement) | $1,300 |
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $200,000 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | Not specified | $370 |
| Renewal cost, one time | Not specified | $0 |
| Field | Nicaragua Pensionado | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Pension or Social Security, Passive income | Pension or Social Security, Passive income |
| Social Security counts as income | Yes | Yes |
| Pension income recognized | Yes | Yes |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | Not specified |
| Field | Nicaragua Pensionado | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 26 weeks | 1 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 35 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 104 weeks |
| Where to apply | In person at the General Directorate of Migration and Foreigners in Managua. The applicant files personally and stays...See where to apply on the visa page | Not specified |
| Interview required | Not specified | No |
| Medical exam required | Yes | No (No medical exam required) |
| Field | Nicaragua Pensionado | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | No |
| Years to permanent residency | Not specified | 2 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Days in country, per year | Not specified | 180 days |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | Not specified | 1,095 days |
| Field | Nicaragua Pensionado | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Territorial | Not specified |
| US tax treaty | No treaty | Not specified |
| Field | Nicaragua Pensionado | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | No (No insurance requirement) | Yes |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | Not specified | Yes |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | 6 items listedSee full list on the visa page | Not specified |