Montenegro Digital Nomad Visa vs Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency
Montenegro digital nomad route: $25 fee, 12 months. Serbia freelancer route: $222 fee, 36 months.
- Montenegro Digital Nomad: $25 to apply, $197 less than Serbia Self-Employed Preduzetnik.
- Montenegro Digital Nomad: about 5 weeks, 1 weeks sooner than Serbia Self-Employed Preduzetnik.
Built for: Digital nomads.
- Income
- $1,542/mo
- Fee
- $25
- Duration
- 12 months
- Fee
- $222
- Duration
- 36 months
- Processing
- 3-9 weeks
Next steps
Montenegro Digital Nomad
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Montenegro Digital Nomad Visa
Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Employment types accepted
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Requires employer sponsorship
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Language requirement
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Maximum consecutive days abroad
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Montenegro Digital Nomad Visa | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Digital nomad | Freelancer |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 | 36 (Longest initial stay) |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Digital nomads, Remote employees | Digital nomads, Freelancers |
| Practical minimum age, years | 18 | Not specified |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Montenegro Digital Nomad Visa | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,542 | Not specified |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $25 (Lowest known fee) | $222 |
| Renewal cost, one time | Not specified | $222 |
| Field | Montenegro Digital Nomad Visa | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Employment types accepted | Not specified | Self-employed, Business owner |
| Local work permitted | No | Yes (Local work permitted) |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | Not specified |
| Requires employer sponsorship | Not specified | No |
| Field | Montenegro Digital Nomad Visa | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 4 weeks | 3 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 6 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 9 weeks |
| Where to apply | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page | Online on the Foreign Nationals’ Portal, where single permit filings are electronic only, followed by a biometric...See where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | Not specified |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Montenegro Digital Nomad Visa | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | Yes (Path to permanent residency) |
| Years to permanent residency | Not specified | 3 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | 9 years |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | Not specified | 180 days |
| Field | Montenegro Digital Nomad Visa | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Worldwide | Worldwide |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | No treaty |
| Field | Montenegro Digital Nomad Visa | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Not specified |
| Local bank account required | No | Not specified |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | Not specified |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Language requirement | Not specified | No language test is applied to the residence application. |
| Required documents | 7 items listedSee full list on the visa page | 7 items listedSee full list on the visa page |