Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) vs Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo)
Mauritius freelancer route: $1,000 fee, 120 months. Spain freelancer route: $91 fee, 1 months.
Built for: Freelancers.
- Fee
- $1,000
- Duration
- 120 months
- Income
- $3,194/mo
- Fee
- $91
- Duration
- 1 months
Next steps
Mauritius Occupation Self-Employed
Spain Freelance Autónomo
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed)
Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo)
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Local work permitted
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
US tax treaty
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Freelancer | Freelancer |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 120 (Longest initial stay) | 1 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Freelancers, Passive investors | Freelancers |
| Minimum age, years | 18 | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Non-EU nationals only |
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | Not specified | $3,194 |
| Minimum savings, one time | $50,000 | Not specified |
| Minimum investment, one time | $50,000 | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Business creation, Capital transfer | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $1,000 | $91 (Lowest known fee) |
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Business income | Not specified |
| Employment types accepted | Business owner, Self-employed | Self-employed |
| Social Security counts as income | No | Not specified |
| Local work permitted | Yes (Local work permitted) | No |
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | Not specified | 13 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | Not specified | 26 weeks |
| Where to apply | Not specified | Apply in person at the Spanish consulate or embassy in your home country for the initial visa. Cannot apply from within...See where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | Yes (Path to permanent residency) |
| Years to permanent residency | Not specified | 5 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | 15 years |
| Days in country, per year | Not specified | 183 days |
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | No (No insurance requirement) |
| Local bank account required | Yes | Yes |
| Apostille required | No (No apostille needed) | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | Not specified | 7 items listedSee full list on the visa page |