Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) vs South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa
Mauritius freelancer route: $1,000 fee, 120 months. South Africa passive income route: 48 months.
One of these visas has limited data on file, so some rows read Not specified. Compare the published fields only.
- Fee
- $1,000
- Duration
- 120 months
- Duration
- 48 months
Next steps
Mauritius Occupation Self-Employed
South Africa Financially Independent
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed)
South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) | South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Freelancer | Passive income |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 120 (Longest initial stay) | 48 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Freelancers, Passive investors | Not specified |
| Minimum age, years | 18 | 18 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) | South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum savings, one time | $50,000 | Not specified |
| Minimum investment, one time | $50,000 | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Business creation, Capital transfer | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $1,000 | Not specified |
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) | South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Business income | Not specified |
| Employment types accepted | Business owner, Self-employed | Not specified |
| Social Security counts as income | No | No |
| Pension income recognized | Not specified | No |
| Local work permitted | Yes (Local work permitted) | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | Not specified | 0% |
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) | South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) | South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | No |
| Years to permanent residency | Not specified | 5 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) | South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Not specified | Worldwide |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) | South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Yes |
| Local bank account required | Yes | No (No local bank account needed) |
| Apostille required | No | No |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |