Malta Digital Nomad Residence Permit vs Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP)
Malta digital nomad route: $336 fee, 12 months. Malta golden visa route: $17 fee, 12 months.
- Malta MPRP: $17 to apply, $319 less than Malta Digital Nomad.
- Malta Digital Nomad: about 3.5 weeks, 16.5 weeks sooner than Malta MPRP.
- Malta Digital Nomad: 150 days a year required, 150 more than Malta MPRP.
- Income
- $3,997/mo
- Fee
- $336
- Duration
- 12 months
- Fee
- $17
- Duration
- 12 months
- Processing
- 16-24 weeks
Next steps
Malta MPRP
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Malta Digital Nomad Residence Permit
Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP)
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Minimum lease, months
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Malta Digital Nomad Residence Permit | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Digital nomad | Golden visa |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 | 12 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Digital nomads, Freelancers, Remote employees | Passive investors |
| Minimum age, years | 18 | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | 18 | 18 |
| Nationality restrictions | Non-EU nationals only | Non-EU nationals only |
| Field | Malta Digital Nomad Residence Permit | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $3,997 | Not specified |
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $500,000 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | $192,974 |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Real estate, Capital transfer |
| Application fee, one time | $336 | $17 (Lowest known fee) |
| Renewal cost, one time | $330 | Not specified |
| Field | Malta Digital Nomad Residence Permit | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Remote work | Not specified |
| Employment types accepted | W-2 employee, 1099 contractor, Business owner, Self-employed | Not specified |
| Social Security counts as income | No | No |
| Pension income recognized | No | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | Not specified |
| Field | Malta Digital Nomad Residence Permit | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 3 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 16 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 4 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 24 weeks |
| Where to apply | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page | Not specified |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Malta Digital Nomad Residence Permit | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | Yes (Path to permanent residency) |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | Not specified |
| Days in country, per year | 150 days | 0 days (Fewest days required in country) |
| Field | Malta Digital Nomad Residence Permit | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Not specified | Remittance based |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Malta Digital Nomad Residence Permit | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | No (No insurance requirement) | Yes |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | Yes | No (No apostille needed) |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Minimum lease, months | Not specified | 60 months |
| Required documents | 8 items listedSee full list on the visa page | Not specified |