Hungary Sole Proprietor (Egyéni Vállalkozó) Residency vs Romania Self-Employed (PFA) Residence Permit
Hungary freelancer route: $159 fee, 12 months. Romania freelancer route.
One of these visas has limited data on file, so some rows read Not specified. Compare the published fields only.
- Income
- $3,426/mo
- Fee
- $159
- Duration
- 12 months
Next steps
Hungary Sole Proprietor
Romania PFA
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Hungary Sole Proprietor (Egyéni Vállalkozó) Residency
Romania Self-Employed (PFA) Residence Permit
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Leads to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Hungary Sole Proprietor (Egyéni Vállalkozó) Residency | Romania Self-Employed (PFA) Residence Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Freelancer | Freelancer |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 | Not specified |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Freelancers, Digital nomads, Remote employees, FIRE, Retirees | Not specified |
| Minimum age, years | 18 | Not specified |
| Practical minimum age, years | 18 | Not specified |
| Nationality restrictions | Non-EU nationals only | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Hungary Sole Proprietor (Egyéni Vállalkozó) Residency | Romania Self-Employed (PFA) Residence Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $3,426 | Not specified |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Business creation | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $159 | Not specified |
| Field | Hungary Sole Proprietor (Egyéni Vállalkozó) Residency | Romania Self-Employed (PFA) Residence Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Business income | Not specified |
| Employment types accepted | Business owner, Self-employed | Not specified |
| Social Security counts as income | Not specified | No |
| Pension income recognized | Not specified | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Field | Hungary Sole Proprietor (Egyéni Vállalkozó) Residency | Romania Self-Employed (PFA) Residence Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 1.1 weeks | Not specified |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Hungary Sole Proprietor (Egyéni Vállalkozó) Residency | Romania Self-Employed (PFA) Residence Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | No |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Field | Hungary Sole Proprietor (Egyéni Vállalkozó) Residency | Romania Self-Employed (PFA) Residence Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Worldwide | Not specified |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Hungary Sole Proprietor (Egyéni Vállalkozó) Residency | Romania Self-Employed (PFA) Residence Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | No (No insurance requirement) | Yes |
| Local bank account required | Yes | No (No local bank account needed) |
| Apostille required | Yes | No (No apostille needed) |
| US FBI background check required | Not specified | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |