Estonia e-Residency + OÜ Company Residency vs Sweden Self-Employment Permit
Estonia freelancer route: $137 fee, $1,370 a month. Sweden freelancer route: 24 months.
Built for: Freelancers.
One of these visas has limited data on file, so some rows read Not specified. Compare the published fields only.
- Income
- $1,370/mo
- Fee
- $137
- Processing
- 2-34.6 weeks
- Duration
- 24 months
Next steps
Estonia e-Residency +
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Estonia e-Residency + OÜ Company Residency
Sweden Self-Employment Permit
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Extra income per adult dependent
Extra income per child dependent
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Language requirement
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
US tax treaty
| Field | Estonia e-Residency + OÜ Company Residency | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Freelancer | Freelancer |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | Not specified | 24 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Digital nomads, Freelancers, Remote employees | Freelancers |
| Practical minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Estonia e-Residency + OÜ Company Residency | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,370 | Not specified |
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $20,700 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $137 | Not specified |
| Renewal cost, one time | Not specified | $190 |
| Extra income per adult dependent | Not specified | 50% |
| Extra income per child dependent | Not specified | 25% |
| Field | Estonia e-Residency + OÜ Company Residency | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Employment types accepted | Business owner | Self-employed, Business owner |
| Social Security counts as income | No | Not specified |
| Pension income recognized | No | Not specified |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Field | Estonia e-Residency + OÜ Company Residency | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 2 weeks | Not specified |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 34.6 weeks | Not specified |
| Where to apply | Not specified | 3 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Estonia e-Residency + OÜ Company Residency | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | Yes (Path to permanent residency) |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | Not specified |
| Field | Estonia e-Residency + OÜ Company Residency | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Estonia e-Residency + OÜ Company Residency | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Not specified |
| Local bank account required | Not specified | No |
| Apostille required | No | Not specified |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Language requirement | Not specified | Documented relevant knowledge in Swedish and/or English required; very good Swedish if extensive local contacts (e.g... |
| Required documents | Not specified | 8 items listedSee full list on the visa page |