El Salvador Digital Nomad Visa vs Uruguay Retirement Visa
El Salvador digital nomad route: $100 fee, 24 months. Uruguay retirement route: $100 fee, 3 months.
- Uruguay Retirement: $1,500 a month, $136 less than El Salvador Digital Nomad.
- Uruguay Retirement: about 7 weeks, 12.5 weeks sooner than El Salvador Digital Nomad.
- El Salvador Digital Nomad: 183 days a year required, 3 more than Uruguay Retirement.
- Income
- $1,636/mo
- Fee
- $100
- Duration
- 24 months
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $100
- Duration
- 3 months
Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
El Salvador Digital Nomad Visa
Uruguay Retirement Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | El Salvador Digital Nomad Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Digital nomad | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 24 (Longest initial stay) | 3 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Digital nomads, Freelancers, Remote employees | Retirees, FIRE, Passive investors |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | Not specified | 55 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | El Salvador Digital Nomad Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,636 | $1,500 (Lowest known income requirement) |
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $24,000 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | $100,000 |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Real estate, Government bonds |
| Application fee, one time | $100 | $100 |
| Field | El Salvador Digital Nomad Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Remote work, Business income | Pension or Social Security, Passive income |
| Employment types accepted | W-2 employee, 1099 contractor, Business owner, Self-employed | Not specified |
| Social Security counts as income | Not specified | No |
| Pension income recognized | No | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | 36% (Highest local income allowance) |
| Field | El Salvador Digital Nomad Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 12.9 weeks | 1 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 26 weeks | 13 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Where to apply | Apply online or at a Salvadoran consulate in your home country ($100 fee). Upon tourist entry (90-180 days visa-free...See where to apply on the visa page | Not specified |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | El Salvador Digital Nomad Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | Yes (Path to permanent residency) |
| Years to permanent residency | Not specified | 0 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | 5 years |
| Days in country, per year | 183 days | 180 days (Fewest days required in country) |
| Field | El Salvador Digital Nomad Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Territorial | Hybrid |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | El Salvador Digital Nomad Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | No | No |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | 7 items listedSee full list on the visa page | Not specified |