Ecuador Digital Nomad Visa vs Kenya Digital Nomad Visa
Ecuador digital nomad route: $1,500 fee, 24 months. Kenya digital nomad route: $200 fee, 12 months.
- Ecuador Digital Nomad: $548 a month, $4,035 less than Kenya Digital Nomad.
- Kenya Digital Nomad: $200 to apply, $1,300 less than Ecuador Digital Nomad.
- Kenya Digital Nomad: about 3 weeks, 10 weeks sooner than Ecuador Digital Nomad.
Built for: Digital nomads, Freelancers and Remote employees.
- Income
- $548/mo
- Fee
- $1,500
- Duration
- 24 months
- Income
- $4,583/mo
- Fee
- $200
- Duration
- 12 months
Next steps
Ecuador Digital Nomad
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Ecuador Digital Nomad Visa
Kenya Digital Nomad Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Ecuador Digital Nomad Visa | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Digital nomad | Digital nomad |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 24 (Longest initial stay) | 12 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Digital nomads, Freelancers, Remote employees | Digital nomads, Freelancers, Remote employees |
| Nationality restrictions | Specific countries only | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Ecuador Digital Nomad Visa | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $548 (Lowest known income requirement) | $4,583 |
| Minimum savings, one time | $1,275 (Lowest known savings requirement) | $53,922 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $1,500 | $200 (Lowest known fee) |
| Renewal cost, one time | Not specified | $1,000 |
| Field | Ecuador Digital Nomad Visa | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Remote work, Business income | Remote work, Business income |
| Employment types accepted | W-2 employee, 1099 contractor, Business owner, Self-employed | 1099 contractor, Self-employed, Business owner |
| Social Security counts as income | Not specified | No |
| Pension income recognized | Not specified | No |
| Local work permitted | Yes (Local work permitted) | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | Not specified | 0% |
| Field | Ecuador Digital Nomad Visa | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 8.7 weeks | 2 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 17.3 weeks | 4 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Where to apply | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | Yes | No (No interview required) |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Ecuador Digital Nomad Visa | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes (Path to permanent residency) | No |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not specified | Not applicable |
| Days in country, per year | Not specified | 183 days |
| Field | Ecuador Digital Nomad Visa | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Not specified | Worldwide |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Ecuador Digital Nomad Visa | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | No (No insurance requirement) |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | Yes | No (No apostille needed) |
| US FBI background check required | Yes | No (No US FBI background check needed) |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | 8 items listedSee full list on the visa page | 6 items listedSee full list on the visa page |