Dominican Republic Rentista / Pensionado Visa vs El Salvador Digital Nomad Visa
Dominican Republic passive income route: $10 fee, 12 months. El Salvador digital nomad route: $100 fee, 24 months.
- Dominican Republic Rentista /: $1,500 a month, $136 less than El Salvador Digital Nomad.
- Dominican Republic Rentista /: $10 to apply, $90 less than El Salvador Digital Nomad.
- Dominican Republic Rentista /: about 0.7 weeks, 18.8 weeks sooner than El Salvador Digital Nomad.
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $10
- Duration
- 12 months
- Income
- $1,636/mo
- Fee
- $100
- Duration
- 24 months
Next steps
Dominican Republic Rentista /
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Dominican Republic Rentista / Pensionado Visa
El Salvador Digital Nomad Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Dominican Republic Rentista / Pensionado Visa | El Salvador Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Passive income | Digital nomad |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 | 24 (Longest initial stay) |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Not specified | Digital nomads, Freelancers, Remote employees |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Dominican Republic Rentista / Pensionado Visa | El Salvador Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,500 (Lowest known income requirement) | $1,636 |
| Minimum investment, one time | $200,000 | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $10 (Lowest known fee) | $100 |
| Field | Dominican Republic Rentista / Pensionado Visa | El Salvador Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Not specified | Remote work, Business income |
| Employment types accepted | Not specified | W-2 employee, 1099 contractor, Business owner, Self-employed |
| Social Security counts as income | Yes | Not specified |
| Pension income recognized | No | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | 0% |
| Field | Dominican Republic Rentista / Pensionado Visa | El Salvador Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 0.7 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 12.9 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 0.7 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 26 weeks |
| Where to apply | Not specified | Apply online or at a Salvadoran consulate in your home country ($100 fee). Upon tourist entry (90-180 days visa-free...See where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Dominican Republic Rentista / Pensionado Visa | El Salvador Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | No |
| Years to permanent residency | 2 years | Not specified |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Days in country, per year | Not specified | 183 days |
| Field | Dominican Republic Rentista / Pensionado Visa | El Salvador Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Not specified | Territorial |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Dominican Republic Rentista / Pensionado Visa | El Salvador Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | No (No insurance requirement) |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | Not specified | 7 items listedSee full list on the visa page |