Dominica Citizenship by Investment vs Uruguay Retirement Visa
Dominica golden visa route: $7,500 fee. Uruguay retirement route: $100 fee, 3 months.
- Uruguay Retirement: $100 to apply, $7,400 less than Dominica Citizenship Investment.
- Uruguay Retirement: about 7 weeks, 24.5 weeks sooner than Dominica Citizenship Investment.
- Uruguay Retirement: 180 days a year required, 180 more than Dominica Citizenship Investment.
Built for: Passive investors.
- Fee
- $7,500
- Processing
- 24-39 weeks
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $100
- Duration
- 3 months
Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Dominica Citizenship by Investment
Uruguay Retirement Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Dominica Citizenship by Investment | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Golden visa | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | Not specified | 3 |
| Renewable | No | Yes (Renewable) |
| Built for | Passive investors | Retirees, FIRE, Passive investors |
| Minimum age, years | 18 | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | 18 (Lowest practical minimum age) | 55 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Dominica Citizenship by Investment | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | Not specified | $1,500 |
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $24,000 |
| Minimum investment, one time | $200,000 | $100,000 (Lowest known investment) |
| Investment types | Real estate, Capital transfer | Real estate, Government bonds |
| Application fee, one time | $7,500 | $100 (Lowest known fee) |
| Renewal cost, one time | $0 | Not specified |
| Field | Dominica Citizenship by Investment | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Not specified | Pension or Social Security, Passive income |
| Social Security counts as income | No | No |
| Pension income recognized | No | No |
| Local work permitted | Yes (Local work permitted) | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | Not specified | 36% |
| Field | Dominica Citizenship by Investment | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 24 weeks | 1 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 39 weeks | 13 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Where to apply | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page | Not specified |
| Interview required | Yes | No (No interview required) |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Dominica Citizenship by Investment | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | Yes (Path to permanent residency) |
| Years to permanent residency | Not specified | 0 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | 5 years |
| Days in country, per year | 0 days (Fewest days required in country) | 180 days |
| Field | Dominica Citizenship by Investment | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Territorial | Hybrid |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Dominica Citizenship by Investment | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | No | No |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | No (No apostille needed) | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | 11 items listedSee full list on the visa page | Not specified |