Costa Rica Pensionado Visa vs Honduras Pensionado
Costa Rica retirement route: 24 months, $1,000 a month. Honduras retirement route: $15 fee, 6 months.
- Costa Rica Pensionado: $1,000 a month, $500 less than Honduras Pensionado.
- Costa Rica Pensionado: about 19 weeks, 33 weeks sooner than Honduras Pensionado.
- Honduras Pensionado: PR in 1 years, 2 sooner than Costa Rica Pensionado.
Built for: Retirees and FIRE.
- Income
- $1,000/mo
- Duration
- 24 months
- Processing
- 12-26 weeks
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $15
- Duration
- 6 months
Next steps
Costa Rica Pensionado
Honduras Pensionado
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Costa Rica Pensionado Visa
Honduras Pensionado
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Extra income per adult dependent
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Maximum consecutive days abroad
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Costa Rica Pensionado Visa | Honduras Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Retirement | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 24 (Longest initial stay) | 6 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Retirees, FIRE | Retirees, FIRE |
| Practical minimum age, years | 45 (Lowest practical minimum age) | 55 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Costa Rica Pensionado Visa | Honduras Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,000 (Lowest known income requirement) | $1,500 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | $50,000 |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | Not specified | $15 |
| Extra income per adult dependent | Not specified | 0% |
| Field | Costa Rica Pensionado Visa | Honduras Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Pension or Social Security | Pension or Social Security, Passive income |
| Employment types accepted | Self-employed, Business owner | Not specified |
| Social Security counts as income | Yes | Yes |
| Pension income recognized | No | Yes (Pension income recognized) |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Field | Costa Rica Pensionado Visa | Honduras Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 12 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 52 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 26 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 52 weeks |
| Where to apply | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page | Not specified |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Costa Rica Pensionado Visa | Honduras Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes | Yes |
| Years to permanent residency | 3 years | 1 years (Shortest known path to permanent residency) |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | 10 years | 4 years (Shortest known path to citizenship) |
| Days in country, per year | Not specified | 360 days |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | Not specified | 360 days |
| Field | Costa Rica Pensionado Visa | Honduras Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Territorial | Worldwide |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Costa Rica Pensionado Visa | Honduras Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Yes |
| Local bank account required | Yes | Yes |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | Not specified | Yes |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | 7 items listedSee full list on the visa page | Not specified |