Costa Rica Digital Nomad Visa vs Kenya Digital Nomad Visa
Costa Rica digital nomad route: 12 months, $3,000 a month. Kenya digital nomad route: $200 fee, 12 months.
- Costa Rica Digital Nomad: $3,000 a month, $1,583 less than Kenya Digital Nomad.
- Kenya Digital Nomad: 183 days a year required, 3 more than Costa Rica Digital Nomad.
Built for: Digital nomads, Remote employees and Freelancers.
- Income
- $3,000/mo
- Duration
- 12 months
- Income
- $4,583/mo
- Fee
- $200
- Duration
- 12 months
Next steps
Costa Rica Digital Nomad
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Costa Rica Digital Nomad Visa
Kenya Digital Nomad Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Costa Rica Digital Nomad Visa | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Digital nomad | Digital nomad |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 | 12 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Digital nomads, Remote employees, Freelancers | Digital nomads, Freelancers, Remote employees |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Costa Rica Digital Nomad Visa | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $3,000 (Lowest known income requirement) | $4,583 |
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $53,922 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | Not specified | $200 |
| Renewal cost, one time | Not specified | $1,000 |
| Field | Costa Rica Digital Nomad Visa | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Remote work | Remote work, Business income |
| Employment types accepted | 1099 contractor, Self-employed | 1099 contractor, Self-employed, Business owner |
| Social Security counts as income | Not specified | No |
| Pension income recognized | No | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 75% (Highest local income allowance) | 0% |
| Field | Costa Rica Digital Nomad Visa | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | Not specified | 2 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | Not specified | 4 weeks |
| Where to apply | Apply online via the official Tramite Ya digital platform at https://tramiteya.go.cr/dgme/ or in-person at General...See where to apply on the visa page | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Costa Rica Digital Nomad Visa | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes (Path to permanent residency) | No |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not specified | Not applicable |
| Days in country, per year | 180 days (Fewest days required in country) | 183 days |
| Field | Costa Rica Digital Nomad Visa | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Territorial | Worldwide |
| US tax treaty | No treaty | Not specified |
| Field | Costa Rica Digital Nomad Visa | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | No (No insurance requirement) |
| Local bank account required | Yes | No (No local bank account needed) |
| Apostille required | Yes | No (No apostille needed) |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | Not specified | No |
| Required documents | 6 items listedSee full list on the visa page | 6 items listedSee full list on the visa page |