Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa vs UK Innovator Founder Visa
Bulgaria digital nomad route: $114 fee, 12 months. United Kingdom other route: $1,700 fee, 36 months.
- Bulgaria Digital Nomad: $114 to apply, $1,586 less than United Kingdom UK.
- United Kingdom UK: about 5.5 weeks, 22.7 weeks sooner than Bulgaria Digital Nomad.
Built for: Freelancers.
- Income
- $5,709/mo
- Fee
- $114
- Duration
- 12 months
- Fee
- $1,700
- Duration
- 36 months
- Processing
- 3-8 weeks
Next steps
Bulgaria Digital Nomad
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa
UK Innovator Founder Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Employment types accepted
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Language requirement
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa | UK Innovator Founder Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Digital nomad | Other |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 | 36 (Longest initial stay) |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Digital nomads, Remote employees, Freelancers | Freelancers |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Nationality restrictions | Non-EU nationals only | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa | UK Innovator Founder Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $5,709 | Not specified |
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $1,679 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $114 (Lowest known fee) | $1,700 |
| Renewal cost, one time | Not specified | $2,120 |
| Field | Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa | UK Innovator Founder Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Employment types accepted | W-2 employee, 1099 contractor, Business owner, Self-employed | Business owner, Self-employed |
| Local work permitted | No | Yes (Local work permitted) |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | Not specified |
| Field | Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa | UK Innovator Founder Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 4.3 weeks | 3 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 52 weeks | 8 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Where to apply | Apply first for Type D long-term visa at Bulgarian embassy/consulate in your home country or legal residence. After...See where to apply on the visa page | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | Yes | Yes |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa | UK Innovator Founder Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | Yes (Path to permanent residency) |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | Not specified |
| Field | Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa | UK Innovator Founder Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Worldwide | Not specified |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa | UK Innovator Founder Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | No (No insurance requirement) |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | Yes | No (No apostille needed) |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Language requirement | Not specified | English language proficiency at CEFR Level B2 (speaking and listening) required, proven by approved tests like IELTS... |
| Required documents | 8 items listedSee full list on the visa page | 8 items listedSee full list on the visa page |