Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa vs Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency
Bulgaria digital nomad route: $114 fee, 12 months. Serbia freelancer route: $222 fee, 36 months.
- Bulgaria Digital Nomad: $114 to apply, $108 less than Serbia Self-Employed Preduzetnik.
- Serbia Self-Employed Preduzetnik: about 6 weeks, 22.2 weeks sooner than Bulgaria Digital Nomad.
Built for: Digital nomads and Freelancers.
- Income
- $5,709/mo
- Fee
- $114
- Duration
- 12 months
- Fee
- $222
- Duration
- 36 months
- Processing
- 3-9 weeks
Next steps
Bulgaria Digital Nomad
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa
Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Employment types accepted
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Requires employer sponsorship
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Language requirement
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Maximum consecutive days abroad
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Digital nomad | Freelancer |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 | 36 (Longest initial stay) |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Digital nomads, Remote employees, Freelancers | Digital nomads, Freelancers |
| Nationality restrictions | Non-EU nationals only | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $5,709 | Not specified |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $114 (Lowest known fee) | $222 |
| Renewal cost, one time | Not specified | $222 |
| Field | Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Employment types accepted | W-2 employee, 1099 contractor, Business owner, Self-employed | Self-employed, Business owner |
| Local work permitted | No | Yes (Local work permitted) |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | Not specified |
| Requires employer sponsorship | Not specified | No |
| Field | Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 4.3 weeks | 3 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 52 weeks | 9 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Where to apply | Apply first for Type D long-term visa at Bulgarian embassy/consulate in your home country or legal residence. After...See where to apply on the visa page | Online on the Foreign Nationals’ Portal, where single permit filings are electronic only, followed by a biometric...See where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | Yes | Not specified |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | Yes (Path to permanent residency) |
| Years to permanent residency | Not specified | 3 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | 9 years |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | Not specified | 180 days |
| Field | Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Worldwide | Worldwide |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | No treaty |
| Field | Bulgaria Digital Nomad Visa | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Not specified |
| Local bank account required | No | Not specified |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | Not specified |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Language requirement | Not specified | No language test is applied to the residence application. |
| Required documents | 8 items listedSee full list on the visa page | 7 items listedSee full list on the visa page |