Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route) vs Hungary Sole Proprietor (Egyéni Vállalkozó) Residency
Austria freelancer route: $130 fee, 24 months. Hungary freelancer route: $159 fee, 12 months.
- Austria Self-Employed Residence: $130 to apply, $29 less than Hungary Sole Proprietor.
- Hungary Sole Proprietor: about 1.1 weeks, 1.9 weeks sooner than Austria Self-Employed Residence.
Built for: Freelancers and FIRE.
- Fee
- $130
- Duration
- 24 months
- Processing
- 3-3 weeks
- Income
- $3,426/mo
- Fee
- $159
- Duration
- 12 months
Next steps
Austria Self-Employed Residence
Hungary Sole Proprietor
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route)
Hungary Sole Proprietor (Egyéni Vállalkozó) Residency
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route) | Hungary Sole Proprietor (Egyéni Vállalkozó) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Freelancer | Freelancer |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 24 (Longest initial stay) | 12 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Freelancers, FIRE | Freelancers, Digital nomads, Remote employees, FIRE, Retirees |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Nationality restrictions | Non-EU nationals only | Non-EU nationals only |
| Field | Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route) | Hungary Sole Proprietor (Egyéni Vállalkozó) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | Not specified | $3,426 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Business creation, Capital transfer | Business creation |
| Application fee, one time | $130 (Lowest known fee) | $159 |
| Field | Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route) | Hungary Sole Proprietor (Egyéni Vállalkozó) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Business income | Business income |
| Employment types accepted | Self-employed | Business owner, Self-employed |
| Social Security counts as income | No | Not specified |
| Pension income recognized | No | Not specified |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Field | Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route) | Hungary Sole Proprietor (Egyéni Vállalkozó) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 3 weeks | 1.1 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 3 weeks | Not specified |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route) | Hungary Sole Proprietor (Egyéni Vállalkozó) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes (Path to permanent residency) | No |
| Years to permanent residency | 2 years | Not specified |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not specified | Not applicable |
| Field | Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route) | Hungary Sole Proprietor (Egyéni Vállalkozó) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Not specified | Worldwide |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route) | Hungary Sole Proprietor (Egyéni Vállalkozó) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | No (No insurance requirement) |
| Local bank account required | No (No local bank account needed) | Yes |
| Apostille required | No (No apostille needed) | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | Not specified |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |