Uruguay Retirement Visa vs Uruguay Temporary Residency
Uruguay retirement route: $100 fee, 3 months. Uruguay passive income route: 24 months, $1,500 a month.
- Uruguay Retirement: about 7 weeks, 5 weeks sooner than Uruguay Temporary.
- Uruguay Temporary: 183 days a year required, 3 more than Uruguay Retirement.
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $100
- Duration
- 3 months
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Duration
- 24 months
- Processing
- 12-12 weeks
Next steps
Uruguay Temporary
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Uruguay Retirement Visa
Uruguay Temporary Residency
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Uruguay Retirement Visa | Uruguay Temporary Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Retirement | Passive income |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 3 | 24 (Longest initial stay) |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Retirees, FIRE, Passive investors | Remote employees, Freelancers |
| Minimum age, years | 18 | Not specified |
| Practical minimum age, years | 55 | Not specified |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Specific countries only |
| Field | Uruguay Retirement Visa | Uruguay Temporary Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,500 | $1,500 |
| Minimum savings, one time | $24,000 | Not specified |
| Minimum investment, one time | $100,000 | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Real estate, Government bonds | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $100 | Not specified |
| Field | Uruguay Retirement Visa | Uruguay Temporary Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Pension or Social Security, Passive income | Not specified |
| Social Security counts as income | No | Not specified |
| Pension income recognized | No | Yes (Pension income recognized) |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 36% | Not specified |
| Field | Uruguay Retirement Visa | Uruguay Temporary Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 1 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 12 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 13 weeks | 12 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Where to apply | Not specified | Apply in-country after entering on tourist visa via online portal at gub.uy (create Digital ID) or immigration offices...See where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Uruguay Retirement Visa | Uruguay Temporary Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes | Yes |
| Years to permanent residency | 0 years | Not specified |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | 5 years | Not specified |
| Days in country, per year | 180 days (Fewest days required in country) | 183 days |
| Field | Uruguay Retirement Visa | Uruguay Temporary Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Hybrid | Hybrid |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Uruguay Retirement Visa | Uruguay Temporary Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | No (No insurance requirement) | Yes |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | Not specified | 8 items listedSee full list on the visa page |