Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) vs Sweden Self-Employment Permit
Spain freelancer route: $91 fee, 1 months. Sweden freelancer route: 24 months.
Built for: Freelancers.
One of these visas has limited data on file, so some rows read Not specified. Compare the published fields only.
- Income
- $3,194/mo
- Fee
- $91
- Duration
- 1 months
- Duration
- 24 months
Next steps
Spain Freelance Autónomo
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo)
Sweden Self-Employment Permit
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Extra income per adult dependent
Extra income per child dependent
Employment types accepted
Local work permitted
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Language requirement
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
US tax treaty
| Field | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Freelancer | Freelancer |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 1 | 24 (Longest initial stay) |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Freelancers | Freelancers |
| Minimum age, years | 18 | Not specified |
| Practical minimum age, years | 18 | 18 |
| Nationality restrictions | Non-EU nationals only | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $3,194 | Not specified |
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $20,700 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $91 | Not specified |
| Renewal cost, one time | Not specified | $190 |
| Extra income per adult dependent | Not specified | 50% |
| Extra income per child dependent | Not specified | 25% |
| Field | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Employment types accepted | Self-employed | Self-employed, Business owner |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Field | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 13 weeks | Not specified |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 26 weeks | Not specified |
| Where to apply | Apply in person at the Spanish consulate or embassy in your home country for the initial visa. Cannot apply from within...See where to apply on the visa page | 3 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes | Yes |
| Years to permanent residency | 5 years | Not specified |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | 15 years | Not specified |
| Days in country, per year | 183 days | Not specified |
| Field | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | No | Not specified |
| Local bank account required | Yes | No (No local bank account needed) |
| Apostille required | Yes | Not specified |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Language requirement | Not specified | Documented relevant knowledge in Swedish and/or English required; very good Swedish if extensive local contacts (e.g... |
| Required documents | 7 items listedSee full list on the visa page | 8 items listedSee full list on the visa page |