Serbia Golden Visa vs Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency
Serbia golden visa route: 6 months, $1,025 a month. Serbia freelancer route: $222 fee, 36 months.
- Income
- $1,025/mo
- Duration
- 6 months
- Processing
- 4-8 weeks
- Fee
- $222
- Duration
- 36 months
- Processing
- 3-9 weeks
Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Serbia Golden Visa
Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Employment types accepted
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Requires employer sponsorship
Health insurance required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Language requirement
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Maximum consecutive days abroad
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Serbia Golden Visa | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Golden visa | Freelancer |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 6 | 36 (Longest initial stay) |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Passive investors | Digital nomads, Freelancers |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Serbia Golden Visa | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,025 | Not specified |
| Minimum savings, one time | $57,093 | Not specified |
| Minimum investment, one time | $57,093 | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Real estate, Business creation, Capital transfer | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | Not specified | $222 |
| Renewal cost, one time | Not specified | $222 |
| Field | Serbia Golden Visa | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Employment types accepted | Not specified | Self-employed, Business owner |
| Local work permitted | Yes | Yes |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 10% | Not specified |
| Requires employer sponsorship | Not specified | No |
| Field | Serbia Golden Visa | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 4 weeks | 3 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 8 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 9 weeks |
| Where to apply | Apply initially at a Serbian consulate abroad for a long-stay Visa D if required for entry, then submit for temporary...See where to apply on the visa page | Online on the Foreign Nationals’ Portal, where single permit filings are electronic only, followed by a biometric...See where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | Not specified |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Serbia Golden Visa | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes | Yes |
| Years to permanent residency | 5 years | 3 years (Shortest known path to permanent residency) |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | 10 years | 9 years (Shortest known path to citizenship) |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | Not specified | 180 days |
| Field | Serbia Golden Visa | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Worldwide | Worldwide |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | No treaty |
| Field | Serbia Golden Visa | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | No | Not specified |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | Not specified |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Language requirement | Not specified | No language test is applied to the residence application. |
| Required documents | 8 items listedSee full list on the visa page | 7 items listedSee full list on the visa page |