Portugal D2 Entrepreneur Visa vs Portugal NHR 2.0 (IFICI — Tech & Creative Workers)
Portugal other route: $101 fee, 24 months. Portugal other route: 120 months.
- Income
- $1,233/mo
- Fee
- $101
- Duration
- 24 months
- Duration
- 120 months
Next steps
Portugal D2 Entrepreneur
Portugal NHR
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Portugal D2 Entrepreneur Visa
Portugal NHR 2.0 (IFICI — Tech & Creative Workers)
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Extra income per adult dependent
Extra income per child dependent
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Minimum lease, months
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Maximum consecutive days abroad
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Portugal D2 Entrepreneur Visa | Portugal NHR 2.0 (IFICI — Tech & Creative Workers) |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Other | Other |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 24 | 120 (Longest initial stay) |
| Renewable | Yes (Renewable) | No |
| Built for | Freelancers, Passive investors, Remote employees | Not specified |
| Minimum age, years | 18 | Not specified |
| Practical minimum age, years | 18 | Not specified |
| Nationality restrictions | Non-EU nationals only | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Portugal D2 Entrepreneur Visa | Portugal NHR 2.0 (IFICI — Tech & Creative Workers) |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,233 | Not specified |
| Minimum savings, one time | $33,623 | Not specified |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Business creation, Capital transfer | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $101 | Not specified |
| Extra income per adult dependent | 50% | Not specified |
| Extra income per child dependent | 30% | Not specified |
| Field | Portugal D2 Entrepreneur Visa | Portugal NHR 2.0 (IFICI — Tech & Creative Workers) |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Business income, Passive income | Not specified |
| Employment types accepted | 1099 contractor, Business owner, Self-employed | Not specified |
| Social Security counts as income | No | No |
| Pension income recognized | No | No |
| Local work permitted | No | Yes (Local work permitted) |
| Field | Portugal D2 Entrepreneur Visa | Portugal NHR 2.0 (IFICI — Tech & Creative Workers) |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 4 weeks | Not specified |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 25.7 weeks | Not specified |
| Where to apply | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page | Not specified |
| Interview required | No | Not specified |
| Medical exam required | No | Not specified |
| Field | Portugal D2 Entrepreneur Visa | Portugal NHR 2.0 (IFICI — Tech & Creative Workers) |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes (Path to permanent residency) | No |
| Years to permanent residency | 2 years | Not specified |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | 4 years | Not applicable |
| Days in country, per year | 146 days (Fewest days required in country) | 183 days |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | 180 days | Not specified |
| Field | Portugal D2 Entrepreneur Visa | Portugal NHR 2.0 (IFICI — Tech & Creative Workers) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Worldwide | Worldwide |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Yes, full treaty |
| Field | Portugal D2 Entrepreneur Visa | Portugal NHR 2.0 (IFICI — Tech & Creative Workers) |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Yes |
| Local bank account required | Yes | No (No local bank account needed) |
| Apostille required | Yes | Not specified |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Minimum lease, months | 12 months | Not specified |
| Required documents | 9 items listedSee full list on the visa page | Not specified |