Mauritius Retirement Permit vs Uruguay Retirement Visa
Mauritius retirement route: $1,000 fee, 60 months. Uruguay retirement route: $100 fee, 3 months.
- Uruguay Retirement: $1,500 a month, $22,500 less than Mauritius Retirement.
- Uruguay Retirement: $100 to apply, $900 less than Mauritius Retirement.
- Uruguay Retirement: PR in 0 years, 5 sooner than Mauritius Retirement.
Built for: Retirees, FIRE and Passive investors.
- Income
- $24,000/mo
- Fee
- $1,000
- Duration
- 60 months
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $100
- Duration
- 3 months
Next steps
Mauritius Retirement
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Mauritius Retirement Permit
Uruguay Retirement Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Mauritius Retirement Permit | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Retirement | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 60 (Longest initial stay) | 3 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Retirees, FIRE, Passive investors | Retirees, FIRE, Passive investors |
| Minimum age, years | 50 | 18 (Lowest minimum age) |
| Practical minimum age, years | 50 (Lowest practical minimum age) | 55 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Mauritius Retirement Permit | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $24,000 | $1,500 (Lowest known income requirement) |
| Minimum savings, one time | $11,921 (Lowest known savings requirement) | $24,000 |
| Minimum investment, one time | $24,000 (Lowest known investment) | $100,000 |
| Investment types | Business creation, Real estate | Real estate, Government bonds |
| Application fee, one time | $1,000 | $100 (Lowest known fee) |
| Field | Mauritius Retirement Permit | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Pension or Social Security, Savings, Passive income | Pension or Social Security, Passive income |
| Social Security counts as income | No | No |
| Pension income recognized | Yes (Pension income recognized) | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | 36% (Highest local income allowance) |
| Field | Mauritius Retirement Permit | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | Not specified | 1 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | Not specified | 13 weeks |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Mauritius Retirement Permit | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes | Yes |
| Years to permanent residency | 5 years | 0 years (Shortest known path to permanent residency) |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not specified | 5 years |
| Days in country, per year | 180 days | 180 days |
| Field | Mauritius Retirement Permit | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Remittance based | Hybrid |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Mauritius Retirement Permit | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | No (No insurance requirement) |
| Local bank account required | Yes | No (No local bank account needed) |
| Apostille required | No (No apostille needed) | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |