Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) vs Serbia Golden Visa
Malta golden visa route: $17 fee, 12 months. Serbia golden visa route: 6 months, $1,025 a month.
Built for: Passive investors.
- Fee
- $17
- Duration
- 12 months
- Processing
- 16-24 weeks
- Income
- $1,025/mo
- Duration
- 6 months
- Processing
- 4-8 weeks
Next steps
Malta MPRP
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP)
Serbia Golden Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Minimum lease, months
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) | Serbia Golden Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Golden visa | Golden visa |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 (Longest initial stay) | 6 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Passive investors | Passive investors |
| Minimum age, years | 18 | Not specified |
| Practical minimum age, years | 18 | Not specified |
| Nationality restrictions | Non-EU nationals only | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) | Serbia Golden Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | Not specified | $1,025 |
| Minimum savings, one time | $500,000 | $57,093 (Lowest known savings requirement) |
| Minimum investment, one time | $192,974 | $57,093 (Lowest known investment) |
| Investment types | Real estate, Capital transfer | Real estate, Business creation, Capital transfer |
| Application fee, one time | $17 | Not specified |
| Field | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) | Serbia Golden Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Social Security counts as income | No | Not specified |
| Pension income recognized | No | Not specified |
| Local work permitted | No | Yes (Local work permitted) |
| Maximum income from local work, % | Not specified | 10% |
| Field | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) | Serbia Golden Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 16 weeks | 4 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 24 weeks | 8 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Where to apply | Not specified | Apply initially at a Serbian consulate abroad for a long-stay Visa D if required for entry, then submit for temporary...See where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) | Serbia Golden Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes | Yes |
| Years to permanent residency | Not specified | 5 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not specified | 10 years |
| Days in country, per year | 0 days | Not specified |
| Field | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) | Serbia Golden Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Remittance based | Worldwide |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) | Serbia Golden Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | No (No insurance requirement) |
| Local bank account required | No | Not specified |
| Apostille required | No (No apostille needed) | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Minimum lease, months | 60 months | Not specified |
| Required documents | Not specified | 8 items listedSee full list on the visa page |