Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) vs Saudi Arabia Premium Residency
Malta golden visa route: $17 fee, 12 months. Saudi Arabia golden visa route: $170 fee, 12 months.
- Malta MPRP: $17 to apply, $153 less than Saudi Arabia Premium.
- Saudi Arabia Premium: about 5 weeks, 15 weeks sooner than Malta MPRP.
Built for: Passive investors.
- Fee
- $17
- Duration
- 12 months
- Processing
- 16-24 weeks
- Fee
- $170
- Duration
- 12 months
- Processing
- 4-6 weeks
Next steps
Malta MPRP
Saudi Arabia Premium
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP)
Saudi Arabia Premium Residency
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Minimum lease, months
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Maximum consecutive days abroad
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) | Saudi Arabia Premium Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Golden visa | Golden visa |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 | 12 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Passive investors | Passive investors, Freelancers, Digital nomads |
| Minimum age, years | 18 (Lowest minimum age) | 21 |
| Practical minimum age, years | 18 (Lowest practical minimum age) | 21 |
| Nationality restrictions | Non-EU nationals only | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) | Saudi Arabia Premium Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum savings, one time | $500,000 | Not specified |
| Minimum investment, one time | $192,974 | Not specified |
| Investment types | Real estate, Capital transfer | Not specified |
| Application fee, one time | $17 (Lowest known fee) | $170 |
| Renewal cost, one time | Not specified | $26,700 |
| Field | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) | Saudi Arabia Premium Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Employment types accepted | Not specified | Self-employed, Business owner, 1099 contractor |
| Social Security counts as income | No | No |
| Pension income recognized | No | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Field | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) | Saudi Arabia Premium Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 16 weeks | 4 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 24 weeks | 6 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Where to apply | Not specified | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) | Saudi Arabia Premium Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes (Path to permanent residency) | No |
| Years to permanent residency | Not specified | 0 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not specified | Not applicable |
| Days in country, per year | 0 days | Not specified |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | Not specified | 365 days |
| Field | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) | Saudi Arabia Premium Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Remittance based | Territorial |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Yes, full treaty |
| Field | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) | Saudi Arabia Premium Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Yes |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | No | No |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Minimum lease, months | 60 months | Not specified |
| Required documents | Not specified | 9 items listedSee full list on the visa page |