Malaysia Premium Visa Programme (PVIP) vs Sarawak Digital Nomad Programme (Malaysian Borneo)
Malaysia passive income route: $4,750 fee, 240 months. Malaysia digital nomad route.
One of these visas has limited data on file, so some rows read Not specified. Compare the published fields only.
- Income
- $3,333/mo
- Fee
- $4,750
- Duration
- 240 months
Next steps
Malaysia PVIP
Malaysia Sarawak Digital
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Malaysia Premium Visa Programme (PVIP)
Sarawak Digital Nomad Programme (Malaysian Borneo)
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Leads to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Malaysia Premium Visa Programme (PVIP) | Sarawak Digital Nomad Programme (Malaysian Borneo) |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Passive income | Digital nomad |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 240 | Not specified |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Not specified | Digital nomads |
| Practical minimum age, years | 30 | Not specified |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Malaysia Premium Visa Programme (PVIP) | Sarawak Digital Nomad Programme (Malaysian Borneo) |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $3,333 | Not specified |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $4,750 | Not specified |
| Renewal cost, one time | $2,375 | Not specified |
| Field | Malaysia Premium Visa Programme (PVIP) | Sarawak Digital Nomad Programme (Malaysian Borneo) |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Not specified | Remote work |
| Employment types accepted | Not specified | 1099 contractor, Self-employed, Business owner, W-2 employee |
| Social Security counts as income | No | No |
| Pension income recognized | No | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | Not specified |
| Field | Malaysia Premium Visa Programme (PVIP) | Sarawak Digital Nomad Programme (Malaysian Borneo) |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 16 weeks | Not specified |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Malaysia Premium Visa Programme (PVIP) | Sarawak Digital Nomad Programme (Malaysian Borneo) |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | No |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Days in country, per year | 0 days | Not specified |
| Field | Malaysia Premium Visa Programme (PVIP) | Sarawak Digital Nomad Programme (Malaysian Borneo) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Territorial | Not specified |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Malaysia Premium Visa Programme (PVIP) | Sarawak Digital Nomad Programme (Malaysian Borneo) |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Yes |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | No | No |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |