Kenya Digital Nomad Visa vs New Zealand Digital Nomad Visa
Kenya digital nomad route: $200 fee, 12 months. New Zealand digital nomad route: $15 fee, 6 months.
- New Zealand Digital Nomad: $15 to apply, $185 less than Kenya Digital Nomad.
- New Zealand Digital Nomad: about 0.8 weeks, 2.3 weeks sooner than Kenya Digital Nomad.
- Kenya Digital Nomad: 183 days a year required, 183 more than New Zealand Digital Nomad.
Built for: Digital nomads, Freelancers and Remote employees.
- Income
- $4,583/mo
- Fee
- $200
- Duration
- 12 months
- Fee
- $15
- Duration
- 6 months
- Processing
- 0.5-1 weeks
Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Kenya Digital Nomad Visa
New Zealand Digital Nomad Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa | New Zealand Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Digital nomad | Digital nomad |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 (Longest initial stay) | 6 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Digital nomads, Freelancers, Remote employees | Digital nomads, Freelancers, Remote employees |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa | New Zealand Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $4,583 | Not specified |
| Minimum savings, one time | $53,922 | Not specified |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $200 | $15 (Lowest known fee) |
| Renewal cost, one time | $1,000 | $15 (Lowest known renewal cost) |
| Field | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa | New Zealand Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Remote work, Business income | Not specified |
| Employment types accepted | 1099 contractor, Self-employed, Business owner | Not specified |
| Social Security counts as income | No | No |
| Pension income recognized | No | Not specified |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | 0% |
| Field | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa | New Zealand Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 2 weeks | 0.5 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 4 weeks | 1 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Where to apply | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page | You apply entirely online through Immigration New Zealand's digital portal. If you are from a visa waiver country, you...See where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa | New Zealand Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | No |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Days in country, per year | 183 days | 0 days (Fewest days required in country) |
| Field | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa | New Zealand Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Worldwide | Worldwide |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Yes, full treaty |
| Field | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa | New Zealand Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | No | No |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | No | No |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | 6 items listedSee full list on the visa page | 6 items listedSee full list on the visa page |