Ireland Stamp 0 (Financially Independent) vs UK Innovator Founder Visa
Ireland passive income route: 12 months, $4,350 a month. United Kingdom other route: $1,700 fee, 36 months.
- Income
- $4,350/mo
- Duration
- 12 months
- Processing
- 26-26 weeks
- Fee
- $1,700
- Duration
- 36 months
- Processing
- 3-8 weeks
Next steps
Ireland Stamp 0
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Ireland Stamp 0 (Financially Independent)
UK Innovator Founder Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Extra income per adult dependent
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Language requirement
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Ireland Stamp 0 (Financially Independent) | UK Innovator Founder Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Passive income | Other |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 | 36 (Longest initial stay) |
| Renewable | No | Yes (Renewable) |
| Built for | Retirees, Passive investors, FIRE | Freelancers |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Nationality restrictions | Non-EU nationals only | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Ireland Stamp 0 (Financially Independent) | UK Innovator Founder Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $4,350 | Not specified |
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $1,679 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | Not specified | $1,700 |
| Renewal cost, one time | Not specified | $2,120 |
| Extra income per adult dependent | 100% | Not specified |
| Field | Ireland Stamp 0 (Financially Independent) | UK Innovator Founder Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Pension or Social Security, Savings, Passive income | Not specified |
| Employment types accepted | Not specified | Business owner, Self-employed |
| Social Security counts as income | Yes | Not specified |
| Pension income recognized | No | Not specified |
| Local work permitted | No | Yes (Local work permitted) |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | Not specified |
| Field | Ireland Stamp 0 (Financially Independent) | UK Innovator Founder Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 26 weeks | 3 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 26 weeks | 8 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Where to apply | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No (No interview required) | Yes |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Ireland Stamp 0 (Financially Independent) | UK Innovator Founder Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | Yes (Path to permanent residency) |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | Not specified |
| Field | Ireland Stamp 0 (Financially Independent) | UK Innovator Founder Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Worldwide | Not specified |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Ireland Stamp 0 (Financially Independent) | UK Innovator Founder Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | No (No insurance requirement) |
| Local bank account required | Not specified | No |
| Apostille required | No | No |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Language requirement | Not specified | English language proficiency at CEFR Level B2 (speaking and listening) required, proven by approved tests like IELTS... |
| Required documents | 6 items listedSee full list on the visa page | 8 items listedSee full list on the visa page |