Honduras Pensionado vs Uruguay Retirement Visa
Honduras retirement route: $15 fee, 6 months. Uruguay retirement route: $100 fee, 3 months.
- Honduras Pensionado: $15 to apply, $85 less than Uruguay Retirement.
- Uruguay Retirement: about 7 weeks, 45 weeks sooner than Honduras Pensionado.
- Uruguay Retirement: PR in 0 years, 1 sooner than Honduras Pensionado.
- Honduras Pensionado: 360 days a year required, 180 more than Uruguay Retirement.
Built for: Retirees and FIRE.
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $15
- Duration
- 6 months
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $100
- Duration
- 3 months
Next steps
Honduras Pensionado
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Honduras Pensionado
Uruguay Retirement Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Extra income per adult dependent
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Maximum consecutive days abroad
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Retirement | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 6 (Longest initial stay) | 3 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Retirees, FIRE | Retirees, FIRE, Passive investors |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | 55 | 55 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,500 | $1,500 |
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $24,000 |
| Minimum investment, one time | $50,000 (Lowest known investment) | $100,000 |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Real estate, Government bonds |
| Application fee, one time | $15 (Lowest known fee) | $100 |
| Extra income per adult dependent | 0% | Not specified |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Pension or Social Security, Passive income | Pension or Social Security, Passive income |
| Social Security counts as income | Yes (Social Security counts) | No |
| Pension income recognized | Yes (Pension income recognized) | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | Not specified | 36% |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 52 weeks | 1 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 52 weeks | 13 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes | Yes |
| Years to permanent residency | 1 years | 0 years (Shortest known path to permanent residency) |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | 4 years (Shortest known path to citizenship) | 5 years |
| Days in country, per year | 360 days | 180 days (Fewest days required in country) |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | 360 days | Not specified |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Worldwide | Hybrid |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | No (No insurance requirement) |
| Local bank account required | Yes | No (No local bank account needed) |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | Yes | No (No US FBI background check needed) |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |