Honduras Pensionado vs South Africa Retired Person Visa
Honduras retirement route: $15 fee, 6 months. South Africa retirement route: $36 fee, 30 months.
- Honduras Pensionado: $1,500 a month, $550 less than South Africa Retired Person.
- Honduras Pensionado: $15 to apply, $21 less than South Africa Retired Person.
- South Africa Retired Person: about 8.5 weeks, 43.6 weeks sooner than Honduras Pensionado.
Built for: Retirees and FIRE.
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $15
- Duration
- 6 months
- Income
- $2,050/mo
- Fee
- $36
- Duration
- 30 months
Next steps
Honduras Pensionado
South Africa Retired Person
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Honduras Pensionado
South Africa Retired Person Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Extra income per adult dependent
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Maximum consecutive days abroad
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | South Africa Retired Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Retirement | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 6 | 30 (Longest initial stay) |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Retirees, FIRE | Retirees, FIRE, Passive investors |
| Practical minimum age, years | 55 | 55 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Specific countries only |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | South Africa Retired Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,500 (Lowest known income requirement) | $2,050 |
| Minimum investment, one time | $50,000 | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $15 (Lowest known fee) | $36 |
| Renewal cost, one time | Not specified | $36 |
| Extra income per adult dependent | 0% | Not specified |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | South Africa Retired Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Pension or Social Security, Passive income | Pension or Social Security, Savings, Passive income |
| Social Security counts as income | Yes (Social Security counts) | No |
| Pension income recognized | Yes | Yes |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | Not specified | 0% |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | South Africa Retired Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 52 weeks | 4 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 52 weeks | 12.9 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | South Africa Retired Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes (Path to permanent residency) | No |
| Years to permanent residency | 1 years | Not specified |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | 4 years | Not applicable |
| Days in country, per year | 360 days | Not specified |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | 360 days | Not specified |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | South Africa Retired Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Worldwide | Worldwide |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | South Africa Retired Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Yes |
| Local bank account required | Yes | No (No local bank account needed) |
| Apostille required | Yes | No (No apostille needed) |
| US FBI background check required | Yes | No (No US FBI background check needed) |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |