Honduras Pensionado vs Peru Retirement Visa (Rentista)
Honduras retirement route: $15 fee, 6 months. Peru retirement route: $1,000 a month.
- Peru Retirement Rentista: $1,000 a month, $500 less than Honduras Pensionado.
- Peru Retirement Rentista: about 10 weeks, 42 weeks sooner than Honduras Pensionado.
Built for: Retirees and FIRE.
One of these visas has limited data on file, so some rows read Not specified. Compare the published fields only.
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $15
- Duration
- 6 months
- Income
- $1,000/mo
- Processing
- 6-14 weeks
Next steps
Honduras Pensionado
Peru Retirement Rentista
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Honduras Pensionado
Peru Retirement Visa (Rentista)
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Extra income per adult dependent
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Maximum consecutive days abroad
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Peru Retirement Visa (Rentista) |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Retirement | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 6 | Not specified |
| Renewable | Yes (Renewable) | No |
| Built for | Retirees, FIRE | FIRE, Retirees, Passive investors |
| Practical minimum age, years | 55 | Not specified |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Peru Retirement Visa (Rentista) |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,500 | $1,000 (Lowest known income requirement) |
| Minimum investment, one time | $50,000 | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $15 | Not specified |
| Renewal cost, one time | Not specified | $0 |
| Extra income per adult dependent | 0% | Not specified |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Peru Retirement Visa (Rentista) |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Pension or Social Security, Passive income | Pension or Social Security, Passive income |
| Social Security counts as income | Yes | Yes |
| Pension income recognized | Yes | Yes |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | Not specified | 0% |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Peru Retirement Visa (Rentista) |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 52 weeks | 6 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 52 weeks | 14 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Where to apply | Not specified | Online through the Migraciones Agencia Digital. The visa route is filed by applicants outside Peru. Applicants already...See where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Peru Retirement Visa (Rentista) |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes | Not specified |
| Years to permanent residency | 1 years | Not specified |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | 4 years | Not specified |
| Days in country, per year | 360 days | Not specified |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | 360 days | Not specified |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Peru Retirement Visa (Rentista) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Worldwide | Worldwide |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | No treaty |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Peru Retirement Visa (Rentista) |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | No (No insurance requirement) |
| Local bank account required | Yes | Yes |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | Yes | Not specified |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | Not specified | 7 items listedSee full list on the visa page |