Honduras Pensionado vs Mexico Retirement Visa
Honduras retirement route: $15 fee, 6 months. Mexico retirement route: $56 fee, 12 months.
- Honduras Pensionado: $1,500 a month, $2,893 less than Mexico Retirement.
- Honduras Pensionado: $15 to apply, $41 less than Mexico Retirement.
- Mexico Retirement: about 1.5 weeks, 50.5 weeks sooner than Honduras Pensionado.
- Honduras Pensionado: PR in 1 years, 3 sooner than Mexico Retirement.
Built for: Retirees.
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $15
- Duration
- 6 months
- Income
- $4,393/mo
- Fee
- $56
- Duration
- 12 months
Next steps
Honduras Pensionado
Mexico Retirement
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Honduras Pensionado
Mexico Retirement Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Extra income per adult dependent
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Language requirement
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Maximum consecutive days abroad
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Mexico Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Retirement | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 6 | 12 (Longest initial stay) |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Retirees, FIRE | Retirees |
| Practical minimum age, years | 55 | Not specified |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Mexico Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,500 (Lowest known income requirement) | $4,393 |
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $73,000 |
| Minimum investment, one time | $50,000 | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $15 (Lowest known fee) | $56 |
| Renewal cost, one time | Not specified | $450 |
| Extra income per adult dependent | 0% (Lowest known adult dependent add-on) | 33% |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Mexico Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Pension or Social Security, Passive income | Pension or Social Security, Savings, Remote work, Passive income |
| Social Security counts as income | Yes | Yes |
| Pension income recognized | Yes | Yes |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Mexico Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 52 weeks | 1 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 52 weeks | 2 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Where to apply | Not specified | Apply in person at a Mexican consulate in your home country or country of legal residenceSee where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No (No interview required) | Yes |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Mexico Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes | Yes |
| Years to permanent residency | 1 years (Shortest known path to permanent residency) | 4 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | 4 years (Shortest known path to citizenship) | 9 years |
| Days in country, per year | 360 days | Not specified |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | 360 days | Not specified |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Mexico Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Worldwide | Worldwide |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Mexico Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Yes |
| Local bank account required | Yes | No (No local bank account needed) |
| Apostille required | Yes | No (No apostille needed) |
| US FBI background check required | Yes | No (No US FBI background check needed) |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Language requirement | Not specified | None |
| Required documents | Not specified | 8 items listedSee full list on the visa page |