Honduras Pensionado vs Mauritius Retirement Permit
Honduras retirement route: $15 fee, 6 months. Mauritius retirement route: $1,000 fee, 60 months.
- Honduras Pensionado: $1,500 a month, $22,500 less than Mauritius Retirement.
- Honduras Pensionado: $15 to apply, $985 less than Mauritius Retirement.
- Honduras Pensionado: PR in 1 years, 4 sooner than Mauritius Retirement.
- Honduras Pensionado: 360 days a year required, 180 more than Mauritius Retirement.
Built for: Retirees and FIRE.
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $15
- Duration
- 6 months
- Income
- $24,000/mo
- Fee
- $1,000
- Duration
- 60 months
Next steps
Honduras Pensionado
Mauritius Retirement
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Honduras Pensionado
Mauritius Retirement Permit
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Extra income per adult dependent
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Maximum consecutive days abroad
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Mauritius Retirement Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Retirement | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 6 | 60 (Longest initial stay) |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Retirees, FIRE | Retirees, FIRE, Passive investors |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 50 |
| Practical minimum age, years | 55 | 50 (Lowest practical minimum age) |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Mauritius Retirement Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,500 (Lowest known income requirement) | $24,000 |
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $11,921 |
| Minimum investment, one time | $50,000 | $24,000 (Lowest known investment) |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Business creation, Real estate |
| Application fee, one time | $15 (Lowest known fee) | $1,000 |
| Extra income per adult dependent | 0% | Not specified |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Mauritius Retirement Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Pension or Social Security, Passive income | Pension or Social Security, Savings, Passive income |
| Social Security counts as income | Yes (Social Security counts) | No |
| Pension income recognized | Yes | Yes |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | Not specified | 0% |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Mauritius Retirement Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 52 weeks | Not specified |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 52 weeks | Not specified |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Mauritius Retirement Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes | Yes |
| Years to permanent residency | 1 years (Shortest known path to permanent residency) | 5 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | 4 years | Not specified |
| Days in country, per year | 360 days | 180 days (Fewest days required in country) |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | 360 days | Not specified |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Mauritius Retirement Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Worldwide | Remittance based |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Mauritius Retirement Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Yes |
| Local bank account required | Yes | Yes |
| Apostille required | Yes | No (No apostille needed) |
| US FBI background check required | Yes | No (No US FBI background check needed) |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |