Honduras Pensionado vs Honduras Rentista Visa
Honduras retirement route: $15 fee, 6 months. Honduras passive income route: $150 fee, 6 months.
- Honduras Pensionado: $1,500 a month, $1,000 less than Honduras Rentista.
- Honduras Pensionado: $15 to apply, $135 less than Honduras Rentista.
- Honduras Rentista: about 21.7 weeks, 30.4 weeks sooner than Honduras Pensionado.
- Honduras Pensionado: 360 days a year required, 359 more than Honduras Rentista.
Built for: Retirees and FIRE.
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $15
- Duration
- 6 months
- Income
- $2,500/mo
- Fee
- $150
- Duration
- 6 months
Next steps
Honduras Pensionado
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Honduras Pensionado
Honduras Rentista Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Extra income per adult dependent
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Maximum consecutive days abroad
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Honduras Rentista Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Retirement | Passive income |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 6 | 6 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Retirees, FIRE | FIRE, Retirees, Digital nomads, Freelancers, Passive investors, Remote employees |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | 55 | 18 (Lowest practical minimum age) |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Honduras Rentista Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,500 (Lowest known income requirement) | $2,500 |
| Minimum investment, one time | $50,000 | $50,000 |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $15 (Lowest known fee) | $150 |
| Extra income per adult dependent | 0% | Not specified |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Honduras Rentista Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Pension or Social Security, Passive income | Remote work, Pension or Social Security, Savings, Passive income, Business income |
| Employment types accepted | Not specified | W-2 employee, 1099 contractor, Business owner, Self-employed |
| Social Security counts as income | Yes | Yes |
| Pension income recognized | Yes (Pension income recognized) | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Honduras Rentista Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 52 weeks | 4.3 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 52 weeks | 39 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Honduras Rentista Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes (Path to permanent residency) | No |
| Years to permanent residency | 1 years (Shortest known path to permanent residency) | 5 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | 4 years | Not applicable |
| Days in country, per year | 360 days | 1 days (Fewest days required in country) |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | 360 days | Not specified |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Honduras Rentista Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Worldwide | Not specified |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Honduras Rentista Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | No (No insurance requirement) |
| Local bank account required | Yes | No (No local bank account needed) |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | Yes | Yes |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |