Ecuador Pensionado Visa vs Honduras Pensionado
Ecuador retirement route: $1,500 fee, 24 months. Honduras retirement route: $15 fee, 6 months.
- Ecuador Pensionado: $1,446 a month, $54 less than Honduras Pensionado.
- Honduras Pensionado: $15 to apply, $1,485 less than Ecuador Pensionado.
- Ecuador Pensionado: about 20 weeks, 32 weeks sooner than Honduras Pensionado.
- Honduras Pensionado: PR in 1 years, 0.8 sooner than Ecuador Pensionado.
- Honduras Pensionado: 360 days a year required, 360 more than Ecuador Pensionado.
Built for: Retirees.
- Income
- $1,446/mo
- Fee
- $1,500
- Duration
- 24 months
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $15
- Duration
- 6 months
Next steps
Ecuador Pensionado
Honduras Pensionado
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Ecuador Pensionado Visa
Honduras Pensionado
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Extra income per adult dependent
Extra income per child dependent
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Maximum consecutive days abroad
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Ecuador Pensionado Visa | Honduras Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Retirement | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 24 (Longest initial stay) | 6 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Retirees | Retirees, FIRE |
| Practical minimum age, years | Not specified | 55 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Ecuador Pensionado Visa | Honduras Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,446 (Lowest known income requirement) | $1,500 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | $50,000 |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $1,500 | $15 (Lowest known fee) |
| Extra income per adult dependent | 17% | 0% (Lowest known adult dependent add-on) |
| Extra income per child dependent | 17% | Not specified |
| Field | Ecuador Pensionado Visa | Honduras Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Pension or Social Security | Pension or Social Security, Passive income |
| Social Security counts as income | Yes | Yes |
| Pension income recognized | No | Yes (Pension income recognized) |
| Local work permitted | Yes (Local work permitted) | No |
| Field | Ecuador Pensionado Visa | Honduras Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 16 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 52 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 24 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 52 weeks |
| Where to apply | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page | Not specified |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Ecuador Pensionado Visa | Honduras Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes | Yes |
| Years to permanent residency | 1.8 years | 1 years (Shortest known path to permanent residency) |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | 6.8 years | 4 years (Shortest known path to citizenship) |
| Days in country, per year | 0 days (Fewest days required in country) | 360 days |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | 90 days | 360 days (Longest allowed absence) |
| Field | Ecuador Pensionado Visa | Honduras Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Not specified | Worldwide |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Ecuador Pensionado Visa | Honduras Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Yes |
| Local bank account required | No (No local bank account needed) | Yes |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No (No US FBI background check needed) | Yes |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | 7 items listedSee full list on the visa page | Not specified |