Dominican Republic Retirement Visa vs Honduras Pensionado
Dominican Republic retirement route: $150 fee, 12 months. Honduras retirement route: $15 fee, 6 months.
- Honduras Pensionado: $15 to apply, $135 less than Dominican Republic Retirement.
- Dominican Republic Retirement: about 3.5 weeks, 48.5 weeks sooner than Honduras Pensionado.
Built for: Retirees.
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $150
- Duration
- 12 months
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $15
- Duration
- 6 months
Next steps
Dominican Republic Retirement
Honduras Pensionado
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Dominican Republic Retirement Visa
Honduras Pensionado
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Extra income per adult dependent
Extra income per child dependent
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Maximum consecutive days abroad
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Dominican Republic Retirement Visa | Honduras Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Retirement | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 (Longest initial stay) | 6 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Retirees | Retirees, FIRE |
| Practical minimum age, years | 50 (Lowest practical minimum age) | 55 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Dominican Republic Retirement Visa | Honduras Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,500 | $1,500 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | $50,000 |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $150 | $15 (Lowest known fee) |
| Extra income per adult dependent | 16.7% | 0% (Lowest known adult dependent add-on) |
| Extra income per child dependent | 16.7% | Not specified |
| Field | Dominican Republic Retirement Visa | Honduras Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Pension or Social Security | Pension or Social Security, Passive income |
| Social Security counts as income | Yes | Yes |
| Pension income recognized | Yes | Yes |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Field | Dominican Republic Retirement Visa | Honduras Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 3 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 52 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 4 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 52 weeks |
| Where to apply | Apply at a Dominican consulate if from abroad, or directly at the immigration office if already inside the Dominican...See where to apply on the visa page | Not specified |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | Not specified | No |
| Field | Dominican Republic Retirement Visa | Honduras Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | Yes (Path to permanent residency) |
| Years to permanent residency | Not specified | 1 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | 4 years |
| Days in country, per year | Not specified | 360 days |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | Not specified | 360 days |
| Field | Dominican Republic Retirement Visa | Honduras Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Territorial | Worldwide |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Dominican Republic Retirement Visa | Honduras Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Yes |
| Local bank account required | Yes | Yes |
| Apostille required | Not specified | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No (No US FBI background check needed) | Yes |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | 6 items listedSee full list on the visa page | Not specified |